Retrospective I by Jóhann Jóhannsson - Box set - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Jóhann Jóhannsson Retrospective I

Product Type: Box set
Sold out!

Jóhann Jóhannsson (1969–2018) was a leading figure in a dynamic and developing scene of composers who move freely and innovatively between film scores, minimalist classical, ambient and electronic music. His visionary work and unique musical language redefined the film scoring landscape, blurring the lines between score and sound design. Within his unique sonic spaces he developed extraordinary otherworldly textures, but also gave the music space to breathe and evolve. Released in April 2019, Retrospective I is the first volume in DG’s two-part celebration of Jóhannsson’s legacy and contains seven of his earlier albums, including the immersive Virðulegu forsetar, with its single hour-long piece for brass, percussion, electronics, organs and piano; And in the Endless Pause There Came the Sound of Bees, his richly atmospheric music for the film Varmints); The Miners’ Hymns, an anthem for the mining communities of northern England; and the previously unreleased soundtrack to the documentary White Black Boy. Accompanied by a hardcover book containing essays by John Schaefer and Wyndham Wallace, and a selection of rare photos taken of and by the composer, this fascinating musical portrait shows the dramatic evolution in Jóhannsson’s work from album to album. Released on 18 September 2020, its companion-piece Retrospective II features a selection of his award-winning film scores, including The Theory of Everything and Arrival, as well as such influential studio albums as Orphée and Englabörn.


Virðulegu forsetar (2004), Dís (2004), And in the Endless Pause There Came the Sound of Bees (2009), The Miners’ Hymns (2011), Copenhagen Dreams (2012), Free the Mind (2012), White Black Boy (2012)