√Retrospective II von Jóhann Jóhannsson - Box set jetzt im Deutsche Grammophon Shop

Jóhann Jóhannsson Retrospective II

Article no.: 134154
Release on: 09/18/2020
Our price: 65,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)
Product Type: Box set

Jóhann Jóhannsson (1969–2018) was a leading figure in a dynamic and developing scene of composers who move freely and innovatively between film scores, minimalist classical, ambient and electronic music. His visionary work and unique musical language redefined the film scoring landscape, blurring the lines between score and sound design. Within his unique sonic spaces he developed extraordinary otherworldly textures, but also gave the music space to breathe and evolve. Complementing the April 2019 release of Retrospective I, which included such seminal works as The Miners’ HymnsCopenhagen Dreams, and Free the Mind, this second and final volume offers a wide-ranging selection of Jóhann Jóhannsson’s multi-award-winning film scores and influential studio albums. Presented as a deluxe hardcover book, it comprises eight CDs and a bonus DVD of his 2016 “Live at Funkhaus Berlin” concert. The limited-edition set also contains previously unreleased tracks from his Grammy- and Golden Globe-nominated score written for the sci-fi drama Arrival and his Deutsche Grammophon debut Orphée including a new rework of “Flight from the City” by Víkingur Ólafsson. It is completed by rare photographs of the composer, as well as two new essays by John Schaefer and Wyndham Wallace that provide insights into Jóhannsson’s life and his aesthetic outlook.


The Theory of Everything (2014), Sicario (2015), Arrival (2016), Orphée (2016), The Mercy (2018), Englabörn (2002) & Variations (2018), 12 Conversations with Thilo Heinzmann (2019)


BONUS-DVD - Jóhann Jóhannsson Live at Funkhaus Berlin (2016)