Eine Weihnachtsmusik by Fritz Wunderlich - Vinyl - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Fritz Wunderlich Eine Weihnachtsmusik

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 23,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Celebrate a classical festive season with Deutsche Grammophon, and this beautiful 1-LP, pressed on 180gm vinyl at Pallas and presented with its original cover artwork.  Recorded in Summer 1966, this Christmas Album was the last studio recording of Fritz Wunderlich who tragically died in September 1966.  Originally released in November that same year, this album became a Christmas Classic for many people. 

Folk tunes such as "Maria durch ein Dornwald ging", "Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen" or "Still, Still, Still" are interwoven in this recital with pieces by Tommaso Albinoni and Georg Philipp Telemann, which are performed just as clearly and truthfully under the baton of Fritz Neumeyer. In between, Will Quadflieg recites the Christmas story from the Gospel of Luke.

 “For many people, this album is as much a part of Christmas as the Christmas tree and candles.” — BARBARA WUNDERLICH (daughter of Fritz Wunderlich)

 “When I was on stage with my friend Fritz or in front of the microphone, those were the best moments of my singing career.” — HERMANN PREY


Side A

  1. Albinoni: Tempo di minuetto (Concerto in D Major, Op. 10, No. 6)
  2. Es begab sich aber zu der Zeit (Verses 1–6, Gospel of Luke)
  3. Maria durch ein Dornwald ging (Anonymous)
  4. Es kommt ein Schiff geladen (Traditional)
  5. Und sie gebar ihren ersten Sohn (Vers 7, Gospel of Luke)
  6. Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen (Anonymous)
  7. Und es waren Hirten in derselben Gegend (Vers 8, Gospel of Luke)
  8. Telemann: Siziliano (Sonata in A Major,for 2 Oboe D’amore and B.c.)
  9. Und siehe, des Herrn Engel (Vers 9, Gospel of Luke)
  10. Was soll das bedeuten (Traditional)
  11. Und der Engel sprach zu ihnen (Verses 10–11, Gospel of Luke)
  12. Freude über Freude
  13. Und das habt zum Zeichen (Vers 12, Gospel of Luke)
  14. Telemann: Allegro (Sonata in A Major,for 2 Oboe D’amore and B.c.)


Side B

  1. Telemann: Larghetto (Sonata in A Major,for 2 Oboe D’amore and B.c.)
  2. Vom Himmel hoch, o Englein kommt (Anonymous)
  3. Und alsbald war da bei dem Engel (Verses 13–14, Gospel of Luke)
  4. Albinoni: Tempo di minuetto (Concerto in D Major, Op. 10, No. 6)
  5. Und da die Engel (Verses 15–16, Gospel of Luke)
  6. Ich steh an deiner Krippen hier
  7. Da sie es aber gesehen hatten (Vers 17, Gospel of Luke)
  8. Still, Still, Still (Traditional)
  9. Und alle, vor die es kam wunderten sich der Rede (Verses 18–19, Gospel of Luke)
  10. Gruber: Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht
  11. Und die Hierten kehrten wieder um (Vers 20, Gospel of Luke)
  12. Praetorius: In dulci jubilo