When Night Falls… by Elīna Garanča - CD + signierte Art Card - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store
When Night Falls… by Elīna Garanča - CD + signierte Art Card - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Elīna Garanča When Night Falls…

Product Type: CD + signierte Art Card
Our price: 23,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Elīna Garanča's new album "When Night Falls..." will be released just in time for World Sleep Day on March 15, 2024 and conveys a feeling for “that time of day when you withdraw from the world, come home, close the door and focus exclusively on your own life, in a safe environment." Accordingly, it is a very personal album, with Garanča highlighting her homeland for the first time in her discography to date. "My Latvian identity simply had to be part of such an intimate, personal programme," says the artist. Latvian composers such as Raimonds Pauls, Alfrēds Kalniņš and Jānis Zālīts can be heard on this album.
The program ranges from large-scale orchestral works to chamber music pieces and songs performed by soloists. The mezzo-soprano is accompanied by renowned colleagues and ensembles, including Albrecht Mayer, Raphaël Feuillâtre, Malcolm Martineau and the Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria.


  1. R. Strauss: No. 1, Wiegenlied (Transcr. for Mezzosoprano and Orchestra) [5 Lieder, Op. 41]
  2. Humperdinck: Abends will ich schlafen gehn [Hänsel und Gretel]
  3. Falla: No. 3, Asturiana (Orch. Halffter) [7 Canciones populares españolas]
  4. Montsalvatge: Canción de cuna para dormir a un negrito (Transcr. for Mezzosoprano and Guitar)
  5. Berio: No. 2, I Wonder as I Wander [Folk Songs]
  6. Berio: No. 3, Loosin yelav [Folk Songs]
  7. Tosti: Sogno (Arr. Bleton for Mezzosoprano and Guitar)
  8. Gallardo del Rey: Nana Criolla
  9. Gallardo del Rey: Canción de cuna
  10. Pauls: Mersedesa (Transcr. for Mezzosoprano, Guitar and Piano)
  11. Brahms: No. 4, Wiegenlied (Arr. Tarkmann for Mezzosoprano, Oboe and Piano) [5 Lieder, Op. 49]
  12. Kalniņš: Kalniņš, Aijaija
  13. Zālīts: Zālīts, Pel t,velc miedziiņu
  14. Kalniņš: Kalniņš: Sūpļa dzeesma
  15. Schubert: Nacht und Träume, D. 827
  16. Pauls: No. 8, Vientuļais Namiņš (Transcr. for Mezzosoprano and Piano) [Mazs, laimīgs zēns]
  17. Pauls: Aicinajums (Transcr. for Mezzosoprano and Piano)
  18. Traditional: Aijā žūžū lāča bērni