Mahler: Symphony No. 2 "Resurrection" by Leonard Bernstein & New York Philharmonic - 2 Vinyl + Art Card - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Leonard Bernstein & New York Philharmonic Mahler: Symphony No. 2 "Resurrection"

Product Type: 2 Vinyl + Art Card
Our price: 57,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)


  • Limited number of albums including an art card with a photo of Leonard Bernstein, complete with a print of the maestro's signature - available exclusively here in the Deutsche Grammophon store

Leonard Bernstein understood and conveyed the music of Gustav Mahler at a level that was positively uncanny, and for many listeners and reviewers his Mahler Cycle on Deutsche Grammophon from the late 1980s remains the best-loved. Bernstein’s reading of the 2nd Symphony from this cycle will now be released on vinyl (2 LP gatefold). The recording was made in New York’s Avery Fisher Hall in April 1987, with the New York Philharmonic, the Westminster Choir, and soloists Barbara Hendricks and Christa Ludwig. “Leonard Bernstein's interpretation of Mahler's ''Resurrection'' Symphony is one of the musical touchstones of our time, a reference point even for those who might not agree with its intensely personal view." (The New York Times 1989)


1st Movement – Allegro maestoso (Totenfeier)
1. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
2. Sehr mäßig und zurückhaltend
3. Schnell
4. Tempo I
5. Tempo sostenuto

2nd Movement – Andante moderato
1. Sehr gemächlich
2. Nicht eilen. Sehr gemächlich
3. In Tempo I zurückkehren
4. Energisch bewegt
5. Wieder ins Tempo zurückgehen. TempoI
3rd Movement – Scherzo
6. In ruhiger fließender Bewegung
7. Sehr getragen und gesangvoll
8. Zum Tempo I zurückkehren

4th Movement – "Urlicht"
1. Sehr feierlich, aber schlicht
5th Movement – Im Tempo des Scherzo
2. Im Tempo des Scherzos
3. Langsam
4. Am Anfang sehr zurückgehalten
5. Wieder sehr breit
6. Molto ritenuto. Maestoso

1. Wieder zurückhaltend
2. Sehr langsam und gedehnt
3. Langsam. Misterioso - "Auferstehen, ja auferstehen wirst du gesät"
4. Langsam ppp. Nicht schleppen - "Wieder aufzublühn wirst du gesät"
5. Etwas bewegter - "O glaube, mein Herz, o glaube"
6. Mit Aufschwung, aber nicht eilen - "O Schmerz, du Alldurchdringer"

Barbara Hendricks, soprano
Christa Ludwig, contralto
The Westminster Choir
Joseph Flummerfelt, chorus master
New York Philharmonic
Leonard Bernstein