Hans Rott: Sinfonie Nr. 1 by Jakub Hrůša & Bamberger Symphoniker - CD - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Jakub Hrůša & Bamberger Symphoniker Hans Rott: Sinfonie Nr. 1

Product Type: CD
Our price: 16,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

"Who is Hans Rott?" Gustav Mahler gives the meaningful answer: the "founder of the new symphony as I understand it." Deutsche Grammophon now presents a new recording of Hans Rott's Symphony No. 1. Full of energy and depth and with a breathtakingly velvety sound, the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra plays under its chief conductor Jakub Hrůša. This is an impressive recording of a composer whose rediscovery in recent years has continued to thrill audiences and enrich our knowledge of late Romantic music.

Hans Rott wrote his first symphony, his most important work - full of groundbreaking musical ideas and a unique vision of how the symphony might develop - from 1878-1880, at a time when his younger classmate Mahler was just getting started and his mentor Bruckner was struggling through his middle period.  Jakub Hrůša places this masterpiece alongside works by Mahler and Bruckner, shedding new light on a work that deserves to be at the center of the symphonic repertoire.


HANS ROTT (1858–1884)

Symphony No. 1 in E major

1. I Alla breve

2. II Sehr langsam

3. III Scherzo. Frisch und lebhaft – Trio

4. IV Sehr langsam – Die Halben wie die früheren Viertel. Belebt – Noch ein wenig belebter. Fuge – Tempo der Einleitung, die Viertel wie die früheren Halben

GUSTAV MAHLER (1860–1911)

5. Andante allegretto ‘Blumine’

ANTON BRUCKNER (1824–1896)

6. Symphonic Prelude in C minor