Chopin by Rafał Blechacz - CD - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Rafał Blechacz Chopin

Product Type: CD
Our price: 17,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

"Blechacz remains an important advocate of Chopin's music today, and he understands the composer's relationship to his predecessors." (San Francisco Classical Voice) Rafał Blechacz's devotion to the art of Chopin goes back a long way, predating his victory at the 2005 Warsaw International Chopin Piano Competition. Now, the Polish pianist dedicates another album to Chopin, performing Piano Sonatas No. 2 and No. 3, as well as Nocturne Op. 48 No. 2 and Barcarolle Op. 60. "I feel like I went through some adventures with these works before I recorded them," Blechacz says. "I'm freer with dynamic contrasts and emotional extremes today. I didn't want to wait any longer to make this recording." Chopin's second and third piano sonatas are undoubtedly among the most technically demanding in the piano repertoire. For a long time now, the sonatas have been on Blechacz's concert program. This experience allows him to rely on his intuition in his playing; both the structural clarity and the changing moods come through in his interpretations of the two sonatas. Blechacz's choice of accompanying pieces also reflects his concert experience: "I have been playing the repertoire for such a long time; all over the world, in a wide variety of concert halls and on any grand piano. Sharing the beauty of these compositions with my listeners was very important to me."


Frederic Chopin (1810–1849)

Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor op. 35

1) 1. Grave – Doppio movimento

2) 2. Scherzo

3) 3. Marche funebre. Lento

4) 4. Finale. Presto

5) Nocturne in F sharp minor op. 48/2

Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor op. 58

6) 1. Allegro maestoso

7) 2. Scherzo. Molto vivace

8) 3. Largo

9) 4. Finale. Presto non tanto

10) Barcarolle in F sharp major op. 60