Émigré by Long Yu & Shanghai Symphony Orchestra - 2CD Digipak - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Long Yu & Shanghai Symphony Orchestra Émigré

Product Type: 2CD Digipak
Our price: 22,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Émigré is a collaboration between the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, Long Yu and Deutsche Grammophon. The oratorio was carefully crafted over five years and has a libretto by Pulitzer Prize winner Mark Campbell, with additional lyrics by Brock Walsh.
Inspired by true events, Émigré deals with a little-known chapter of the Second World War: the welcome given by the people of Shanghai to Jewish refugees from Nazi Europe in the 1930s. At its core, Émigré is a love story that is a parable for the world. The turmoil that tears the couples apart in the story is a reflection of how the world often tears itself apart.
The work will be performed by an outstanding cast of musicians from the USA and China under the direction of Long Yu and will be released in digital form on February 2, 2024. The album will also be available on CD on June 28, 2024.



  1. Prologue
  2. Shanghai
  3. Look Ahead
  4. Dreaming Must Wait
  5. This House We Share
  6. My City
  7. Recitative
  8. No Word From Home
  9. In A Woman’s Hands
  10. Yu Garden
  11. In a Perfect World
  12. One Magical Night
  13. Our People


CD 2:

  1. Entr’acte
  2. Light a Flame
  3. The Song Home
  4. You Cannot Deny My Love
  5. And Another Day
  6. Forever
  7. Once Upon a Night
  8. Where Is My Father?
  9. The Yeshiva in the Ghetto
  10. Nowhere to Go
  11. Through a Window