LIFE by Mari Samuelsen - LP - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store
LIFE by Mari Samuelsen - LP - shop now at Deutsche Grammophon store

Mari Samuelsen LIFE

Product Type: LP
Our price: 29,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Rich in contemporary colour and contrast, LIFE is inspired by the Norwegian violinist’s experience of becoming a mother. Known for her vibrant and imaginative programming as well as her passionate and virtuosic playing, Samuelsen has created a kaleidoscopic musical reflection of some of the emotional discoveries that come with parenthood. The album presents music by Olivia Belli, Bryce Dessner, Ludovico Einaudi, Nils Frahm, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Mário Laginha, Hania Rani, Max Richter and Steve Reich, with a dash of Schubert also thrown into the mix. Samuelsen is  joined on the album by a small group of fellow musicians, including the string players of Scoring Berlin, conducted by Jonathan Stockhammer.

The initial idea for LIFE came to Mari Samuelsen around the time her first child was born, and she recorded the album while pregnant with her second. The sheer beauty of her playing is the thread that runs through all eleven tracks. She hopes LIFE will speak to many listeners, whether by stirring childhood memories or by chiming with emotions they have experienced as new parents, watching a child discover the world. “I play music because I want to tell stories,” she says. “They have something personal – but I want them to be relatable for as many people as possible.”


Side A
01.    Jóhann Jóhannsson: The Theory of Everything: Cambridge 1963
02.    Olivia Belli: Sapias
03.    Nils Frahm: Hammers
04.    Ludovico Einaudi: DNA
05.    Mário Laginha: Coisas da Terra
06.    Bryce Dessner: Aheym

Side B
07.    Franz Schubert: Piano Quintet in A Major, D 667, Op. 114
08.    Hania Rani: Glass
09.    Max Richter: She Remembers (from The Leftovers)
10.    Steve Reich: Duet
11.    Bryce Dessner: Song for Octave